IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name Theresa Post
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 3/9/11 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
University of Minnesota Bachelor of Arts - Sociology Yes 5/1/05
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee Master of Science - Criminal Justice Yes 5/1/07


Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

Prior to coming to TMG, I was a family caregiver and have experience working with domestic violence, PATH planning, and the criminal justice system. My father and brother also had disabilities so I have personal experience with long-term supports.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Calumet, Manitowoc

Languages or Communication Skills


I'm comfortable with pets in the home


More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
To me, partnering with people to clear the path ahead is not doing for someone but doing with someone. I want the people I work with to learn and to be their best self-advocate; to live a self-determined life and choose for themselves. I help to partner with people by being able to answer questions about the waiver, by being a sounding board, and by supporting people to make decisions about their lives and the long-term supports they need.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
I enjoy working with people. I feel that a good relationship is crucial to partnering with someone and that a good relationship can weather many changes. As an IRIS Consultant, I feel pride seeing the people I work with get a job, overcome a health obstacle, or build new connections in their community. This is what I enjoy most about my job as I get to see a person's progress, and not just where they have been.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I grew up in a family where both my father and brother had a disability. This helped me to see the importance that supports can have on one's lives; including but not limited to family, friends, long-term supports, the community, employment, and many more. It has also taught me that each person's needs are different and the importance of having an individualized plan. No two people are the same and no two plans should be either.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I enjoy volunteering for my community, watching movies, playing games, but most of all spending time with my family.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)