IRIS Consultant Biography

Back to search results

  Consultant Name John Ryan
  Company Name TMG
  Phone Number 844-864-8987

Work History (starting with most recent)

Name of Agency Date of Employment Job Title
TMG 2/6/2013 IRIS Consultant

Care Responsibilities

Your TMG IRIS consultant is your partner as you create a plan that meets your needs and stays within your IRIS budget. Your TMG IRIS consultant can connect you to resources in your area, and will be a great source of information for any questions you have

Educational Background

Name of Institution Major/Degree Degree Obtained Date Obtained
University of Wisconsin - Superior Bachelor of Science - Sociology Yes 5/1/1979


Name of Certification / Accreditation Certifying Agency Date Certification was Obtained

Specialties (e.g., working with autism, the elderly, employment for people with disabilities or youth in transition, mental health, experience with assisted technology)

​I have extensive experience working with people of all ages and demographics including people with disabilities and individuals age 65 and older.

County/Region I'm familiar with

Barron, Burnett, Polk, Washburn

Languages or Communication Skills


I'm comfortable with pets in the home


More about me

How do you Partner with people to 'clear the path ahead'?
​I help people clear the path ahead by partnering with them to identify their goals and helping them as they plan to achieve those goals within the parameters of their budget allocation estimate and with attention to the wise use of public dollars.

What's your favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant?
My favorite part of being an IRIS Consultant is mee​ting new people and then fostering and maintaining a working relationship with them. Beyond that, I look forward to the ongoing quarterly home visits and conversations with each individual(s) in IRIS. I am honored to say that the person in IRIS often looks forward to those home visits as much as I do. My favorite thing about being an IRIS consultant is my interpersonal interactions with the people in IRIS, particularly those conversations of a face-to-face nature.

What past experience prepared you to become an IRIS Consultant?
I served five years in a county human services department as both an Economic Support/Income maintenance case manager as well as a Social Worker. After that I served nearly 25 years in workforce development.​ Personal and life experiences from my formative years as part of a family of eight helped spawn my interest in the human services field and I am proud to have worked in that realm for nearly four decades.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
If the snow isn't too deep and the temperature is between 15 degrees and 94 degrees I would rather be outdoors. I enjoy vegetable gardening, forest management and firewood harvesting (to heat our home), fishing, edible mushroom hunting & gathering, ​bicycling, bird and deer hunting, wild game cookery, attending shows, plays and concerts, journaling, conversation, good comedy, attending baseball games (both amateur and professional), sports officiating (basketball and baseball), following news and current events, hiking, bird-watching, reading, listening to music, and so on.

WI DHS/DLTC/F-01486 (04/2015)